2017 Royal London One-Day Cup

2017 Royal London One-Day Cup

The 2017 Royal London One-Day Cup tournament is a cricket competition that forms part of the 2017 domestic cricket season in England and Wales. All eighteen First-class counties are competing in the tournament which run from the end of April with the final taking place on July 1th.

The competition this year was moved earlier in the season to allow the NatWest t20 Blast to take place during the summer and to allow England players to prepare for the ICC Champions Trophy in England and Wales, during this present June.

The aim of the England and Wales Cricket Board is to allow county players to develop skills more effectively, to allow preparation for England matches and to make the schedule easier to understand.

The Royal London One-Day Cup reaches the knockout phases this week. They changed the format this 2017, and it’s certainly fairer.

There’s now perceptible reward for topping the group in the preliminary period, with Essex and Worcestershire skipping the quarter-final stage and going straight to the semi-finals.

The teams finishing second and third in each group play off for the right to meet, so there are only two quarter-finals played.

The quarter-finals have thrown up a tough clash with Yorkshire meeting Surrey in Tuesday at Headingley (1400 BST start). Both teams are clearly packed with quality, although Surrey are odds-against outsiders and make more appeal in a game that looks tight. There is an inherent risk in backing a middle-order batsman in this market for limited-overs games.

The other quarter-final pits Somerset against Notts, with the visitors odds-on favorites in a market that looks good. Samit Patel was easily Notts’ leading run-scorer in the group and comes into this one on the back of a Championship double-century. On the other side, Adam Hose might not be the biggest name in the Somerset line-up.

The competition will be on hiatus for the majority of the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy which takes place in England and Wales during this month, with the quarter-finals and semi-finals taking place this week (between 13 and 17 June). The knock-out stages of the competition will continue near the end of the Champions Trophy with the final taking place at Lord’s on July 1st.

Due to the penalty for accepting a £3.8 million financial assistance package from the ECB during 2016, Durham began the competition this year with a deduction of two points.

Get all the latest Betting and Sport News updates on your social media outlets. Find us on Facebook and Google+

Sign up at WagerWeb.ag